Published On: Mon, Mar 12th, 2012

Boca, Delray schedule municipal elections on March 13

A single political race will face voters in Boca Raton’s March 13 City Council election.  In Delray Beach, two seats on the City Commission are up for grabs. There is also a referendum question regarding length of commission terms.

The Boca contest, already a heated clash, pits incumbent Anthony Majhess against Frank Chapman for Seat D. on the council.  Councilwoman Constance Scott, who was up for re-election this year, nearly had a challenger when Bill Trinka filed his papers.  However, he withdrew shortly afterward, citing a personal animus toward collecting political contributions.

In Delray Beach, four people qualified to run for Seat 4 on the City Commission and two candidates, including incumbent Angeleta Gray, qualified to run for Seat 2.

Voters in Delray Beach will also decide whether to change the length of terms from two to three years, allowing elected officials to serve a total of nine years, or three three-year terms, instead of the current six-year limit.

In the race for Seat 4, Gray will face Victor Kirson, a retired dentist and a frequent visitor to City Commission and other board meetings.

Kirson, 71, has served on the Police and Fire Pension board and opposed cuts that would reduce benefits for police and fire unions.

In 2009, Gray was appointed to the City Commission to replace State Rep. Mack Bernard, D-West Palm Beach, who left the commission to run for state representative. Gray, who also served on the Delray Beach Community Redevelopment Agency board, was elected in March 2010.

Four candidates are running for Seat 4: Former City Commissioner Patricia Archer; Financial Review Board Chairwoman Christina Morrison; Al Jacquet, who is a legislative aide for Bernard; and activist Dave Armstrong.

Seat 4 is currently held by former Mayor Jay Alperin, who was appointed in August after former Commissioner Fred Fetzer resigned, citing heath concerns.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>